Denna webbshop är stängd för köp.
Klicka här för mer information

House on Endless Waters
  • Bandtyp: CD-bok
  • Språk: Engelska
  • Utgiven: 202001
  • Vikt i gram: 227
  • ISBN10:1797102400
  • ISBN13:9781797102405

House on Endless Waters

(CD-bok)
Beskrivning:

"Extraordinary--a vibrant, page-turning family mystery." --Jennifer Cody Epstein, bestselling author of Wunderland "A story of love, loss, and yearning. Lyrically phrased and often powerfully visual...this deeply felt tale offers a rewarding meditation on survival." --Kirkus Reviews, (starred review) In the tradition of The Invisible Bridge and The History of Love, comes an exquisitely moving novel about a writer who discovers the truth about his mother's wartime years in Amsterdam, unearthing a shocking family secret that becomes the subject of his magnum opus.At the behest of his agent, renowned author Yoel Blum reluctantly agrees to visit his birthplace of Amsterdam to promote his books, despite promising his late mother that he would never return to that city. While touring the Jewish Historical Museum with his wife, Yoel stumbles upon footage portraying prewar Dutch Jewry and is astonished to see the youthful face of his beloved mother staring back at him, posing with his father, his older sister...and an infant he doesn't recognize. This unsettling discovery launches him into a fervent search for the truth, shining a light on Amsterdam's dark wartime history--the underground networks that hid Jewish children away from danger and those who betrayed their own for the sake of survival. The deeper into the past Yoel digs to tell the story of his life, the better he understands his mother's silence, and the more urgent the question that has unconsciously haunted him for a lifetime--Who am I?--becomes. Part family mystery, part wartime drama, House on Endless Waters is an unforgettable meditation on identity, belonging, and the inextricable nature of past and present.

Kundrecensioner och bloggar

Sök fler böcker:

Kunder som köpt denna bok har
även köpt:
Skotten i Köpenhamn :  ett reportage om
Ibland mår jag inte så bra
Ibland mår jag inte så bra
av Lindgren, Therése
Uppgång och fall
Uppgång och fall
av Strömquist, Liv
Miniatyrmakaren
Miniatyrmakaren
av Burton, Jessie
Min mors självbiografi
Min mors självbiografi
av Kincaid, Jamaica