Denna webbshop är stängd för köp.
Klicka här för mer information

Sökresultat - Colin McGinn

Sök »
Din sökning gav 28 träffar. Klicka på titeln för mer information eller lägg den i din kundvagn direkt. Om Du inte hittar titeln vid sökning se Söktips

Fördjupa min sökning

  • Shakespeare's Philosophy

    Shakespeare's Philosophy
    av Colin McGinn

    Häftad - 2007 - Engelska - ISBN: 9780060856168

    A distinguished professor of philosophy offers insight into how six of Shakespeare's major works reflect the bard's personal beliefs and were influenced by the essays of Montaigne, in a narrative that includes essays that evaluate Shakespeare's them…

  • Basic Structures of Reality

    Basic Structures of Reality
    av Colin McGinn

    Inbunden - 2012 - Engelska - ISBN: 9780199841103

    In Basic Structures of Reality, Colin McGinn deals with questions of metaphysics, epistemology, and philosophy of mind from the vantage point of physics. Combining general philosophy with physics, he covers such topics as the definition of matter, t…

  • Philosophy of Language

    Philosophy of Language
    av Colin McGinn

    Pocket - 2016 - Engelska - ISBN: 9780262529822

    An introduction to philosophy of language through systematic and accessible explanations of ten classic texts by such thinkers as Frege, Kripke, Russell, and Putnam.Many beginning students in philosophy of language find themselves grappling with den…

  • The Mysterious Flame

    The Mysterious Flame
    av Colin McGinn

    Pocket - 2000 - Engelska - ISBN: 9780465014231

    In recent years the nature of consciousness,our immediately known experiences,has taken its place as the most profound problem that science faces. Now in this brilliant and thoroughly accessible new book Colin McGinn takes a provocative position on…

  • The Space Trap: Alan Swift Leaves Home

    The Space Trap: Alan Swift Leaves Home
    av Colin McGinn

    Häftad - 1992 - Engelska - ISBN: 9781493756254

  • Consciousness and its Objects

    Consciousness and its Objects
    av Colin McGinn

    Inbunden - 2004 - Engelska - ISBN: 9780199267606

    Colin McGinn presents his latest work on consciousness in ten interlinked essays, four of them previously unpublished. He extends and deepens his controversial solution to the mind-body problem, defending the view that consciousness is both ontologi…

  • Knowledge and Reality

    Knowledge and Reality
    av Colin McGinn

    Inbunden - 1999 - Engelska - ISBN: 9780198238232

    Knowledge and Reality brings together a selection of Colin McGinn's philosophical essays from the 1970s to the 1990s, whose unifying theme is the relation between the mind and the world. The essays range over a set of prominent topics in contemporar…

  • Knowledge and Reality

    Knowledge and Reality
    av Colin McGinn

    Häftad - 2002 - Engelska - ISBN: 9780199251582

    Knowledge and Reality brings together a selection of Colin McGinn's philosophical essays from the 1970s to the 1990s, whose unifying theme is the relation between the mind and the world. The essays range over a set of prominent topics in contemporar…

  • Sport

    Sport
    av Colin McGinn

    Häftad - 2008 - Engelska - ISBN: 9781844651481

    Whether it's conkers in the schoolyard, kicking a football in the park, or playing tennis on Wimbledon Centre Court, sport impacts all of our lives. But what is sport and why do we do it? Colin McGinn, renowned philosopher (and kiteboarder), reflect…

  • Sport

    Sport
    av Colin McGinn

    Inbunden - 2016 - Engelska - ISBN: 9781138158986

    Whether it's conkers in the schoolyard, kicking a football in the park, or playing tennis on Wimbledon Centre Court, sport impacts all of our lives. But what is sport and why do we do it? Colin McGinn, renowned philosopher (and kiteboarder), reflect…

  • The Character of Mind

    The Character of Mind
    av Colin McGinn

    Häftad - 1997 - Engelska - ISBN: 9780198752080

    Of what nature is the mind? So Colin McGinn starts his first chapter, and this is his guiding question. He pursues the answer with a boldness and provocativeness rarely encountered in philosophical writing. As he explains, my aim has been to give th…

  • Ethics, Evil, and Fiction

    Ethics, Evil, and Fiction
    av Colin McGinn

    Häftad - 1999 - Engelska - ISBN: 9780198238775

    Ethics, Evil, and Fiction brings together moral philosophy and literary analysis in a way that offers original new insights for both. Its central aim is to enrich the domain of moral reflection, by showing the value of literary texts as sources of m…

  • Ethics, Evil, and Fiction

    Ethics, Evil, and Fiction
    av Colin McGinn

    Inbunden - 1997 - Engelska - ISBN: 9780198237167

    Ethics, Evil, and Fiction brings together moral philosophy and literary analysis in a way that offers original new insights for both. Its central aim is to enrich the domain of moral reflection, by showing the value of literary texts as sources of m…

  • Prehension

    Prehension
    av Colin McGinn

    Pocket - 2017 - Engelska - ISBN: 9780262533645

    In praise of the hand: A philosopher considers the crucial role of the hand in human evolution, particularly with respect to language. "McGinn is an ingenious philosopher who thinks like a laser and writes like a dream." -Steven PinkerThis book is a…

  • The Philosophy of David Cronenberg

    The Philosophy of David Cronenberg

    Inbunden - 2012 - Engelska - ISBN: 9780813136042

    Initially regarded as a cult figure with a strong following amongst sci-fi and horror film fans, Canadian filmmaker David Cronenberg emerged as a major and commercially viable film director with mainstream hits such as A History of Violence (2005) a…

  • Bad Patches

    Bad Patches
    av Colin McGinn

    Häftad - 2012 - Engelska - ISBN: 9781477688380

  • Roadman

    Roadman
    av Colin McGinnis

    Häftad - 2018 - Engelska - ISBN: 9781942515043

    Roadman is a novel in the tradition of Carlos Castaneda, Cormac McCarthy, Kerouac and Burroughs filled with landscape, antiquity, legend little narrated outside of the confines of historical or anthropological texts, portrays the spread of the Nativ…

  • Minds and Bodies

    Minds and Bodies
    av Colin McGinn

    Inbunden - 1997 - Engelska - ISBN: 9780195113556

    In Minds and Bodies, one of philosophy's most dynamic and versatile thinkers gathers nearly forty review essays written over the past twenty years for non-specialized publications. They cover biography, particularly of Russell and Wittgenstein; phil…

  • Logical Properties

    Logical Properties
    av Colin McGinn

    Inbunden - 2000 - Engelska - ISBN: 9780199241811

    The concepts of identity, existence, predication, necessity, and truth are at the centre of philosophy and have rightly received sustained attention. Yet Colin McGinn believes that orthodox views of these topics are misguided in important ways. Phil…

  • Logical Properties

    Logical Properties
    av Colin McGinn

    Häftad - 2003 - Engelska - ISBN: 9780199262632

    The concepts of identity, existence, predication, necessity, and truth are at the centre of philosophy and have rightly received sustained attention. Yet Colin McGinn believes that orthodox views of these topics are misguided in important ways. Phil…

  • Mindsight

    Mindsight
    av Colin McGinn

    Häftad - 2006 - Engelska - ISBN: 9780674022478

    How to imagine the imagination is a topic that draws philosophers the way flowers draw honeybees. From Plato and Aristotle to Wittgenstein and Sartre, philosophers have talked and written about this most elusive of topics--that is, until contemporar…

  • The Making of a Philosopher: My Journey Through Twentieth-Century Philosophy

    The Making of a Philosopher: My Journey Through Twentieth-Century Philosophy
    av Colin McGinn

    Häftad - 2003 - Engelska - ISBN: 9780060957605

    Part memoir, part study, The Making of a Philosopher is the self-portrait of a deeply intelligent mind as it develops over a life on both sides of the Atlantic. The Making of a Philosopher follows Colin McGinn from his early years in England readin…

  • Truth by Analysis

    Truth by Analysis
    av Colin McGinn

    Inbunden - 2012 - Engelska - ISBN: 9780199856145

    What kind of subject is philosophy? Colin McGinn takes up this perennial question, defending the view that philosophy consists of conceptual analysis, construed broadly. Conceptual analysis is understood to involve the search for de re essences, but…

  • Wittgenstein on Meaning, ASM Volume 1

    Wittgenstein on Meaning, ASM Volume 1
    av Colin McGinn

    Häftad - 1987 - Engelska - ISBN: 9780631156819

  • Mental Content

    Mental Content
    av Colin McGinn

    Inbunden - 1989 - Engelska - ISBN: 9780631163695

    Aimed at philsophy graduates this book investigates mental content in a systematic way and advances a number of claims about how mental content states are related to the body and the world. Internalism is the thesis that they are; externalism is the…

  • Moral Literacy

    Moral Literacy
    av Colin McGinn

    Häftad - 1993 - Engelska - ISBN: 9780872201965

    "A great resource for beginning ethics courses. The book is short and yet it richly embodies the methods of ethical thinking about practical moral problems that are hard for students to learn unless they see them in action. McGinn perspicuously sets…

  • Problems in Philosophy

    Problems in Philosophy
    av Colin McGinn

    Häftad - 1993 - Engelska - ISBN: 9781557864758

    Problems in Philosophy is a critical introduction to philosophy. The author offers a synoptic view of philosophical inquiry, discussing such topics as reason and truth, consciousness, the self, meaning, free will, the a priori, and knowledge. The em…

  • The Power of Movies: How Screen and Mind Interact

    The Power of Movies: How Screen and Mind Interact
    av Colin McGinn

    Häftad - 2007 - Engelska - ISBN: 9781400077205

    A philosopher addresses the question of why movies have become such a compelling form of entertainment, analyzing how film works on the human mind and imagination, how it expresses human emotion in all its variations, and how a connection to movies…

  • The Subjective View

    The Subjective View
    av Colin McGinn

    Häftad - 1983 - Engelska - ISBN: 9780198246954

    This book investigates subjective and objective representations of the world. Analogies between secondary qualities and indexical thoughts are developed, and subjective representations are argued to be ineliminable.

  • The Meaning of Disgust

    The Meaning of Disgust
    av Colin McGinn

    Inbunden - 2011 - Engelska - ISBN: 9780199829538

    Disgust has a strong claim to be a distinctively human emotion. But what is it to be disgusting? What unifies the class of disgusting things? Colin McGinn sets out to analyze the content of disgust, arguing that life and death are implicit in its me…

  • The Problem of Consciousness

    The Problem of Consciousness
    av Colin McGinn

    Häftad - 1992 - Engelska - ISBN: 9780631188032

    Can consciousness be fitted into a naturalistic worldview or is it inherently mysterious? In virtue of what does a physical organism come to have an inner conscious life? This book argues that we are not equipped to understand the workings of concio…

  • Philosophical Provocations

    Philosophical Provocations
    av Colin McGinn

    Klotband - 2017 - Engelska - ISBN: 9780262036191

    Pithy, direct, and bold: essays that propose new ways to think about old problems, spanning a range of philosophical topics.In Philosophical Provocations, Colin McGinn offers a series of short, sharp essays that take on philosophical problems rangin…