Denna webbshop är stängd för köp.
Klicka här för mer information

The Complete Prose of T. S. Eliot: The Critical Edition: 8-Volume Set
  • Bandtyp: Inbunden
  • Språk: Engelska
  • Utgiven: 202103
  • Antal sidor: 7152
  • ISBN10:1421441063
  • ISBN13:9781421441061

The Complete Prose of T. S. Eliot: The Critical Edition: 8-Volume Set


This monumental eight-volume edition of modern literature brings together, for the first time in print, all of the vastly influential prose writings of Nobel laureate T. S. Eliot, the poet and dramatist whose theories and criticism shaped twentieth-century thought and literature around the world. This complete collection provides access to over 6,000 pages of Eliot's nonfiction prose writings on literature, philosophy, religion, cultural theory, world politics, and other topics of urgent and enduring import. It includes all of the essays that he collected in his lifetime, but also more than 1,000 uncollected, unrecorded, or unpublished items, many of which were missing or inaccessible for decades. From the formative "Interpretation of Primitive Ritual" (1913), written in graduate school at Harvard, to the summative "To Criticize the Critic" (1961), the Complete Prose offers readers full access to the immense scope and variety of Eliot's works in their biographical, historical, and cultural context.

The individual volumes have received the highest praise from prominent scholars: volume II won the Modernist Studies Association's 2015 Book Prize for an Edition, Anthology, or Essay Collection, while volumes V and VI were jointly awarded the 2017 Prize for a Scholarly Edition by the Modern Language Association. They display "uniform excellence," wrote the Awards Committee: "Their thorough textual introductions, sophisticated annotations merging intelligent commentary with brevity and completeness, make the volumes a pleasure to read... and enlarge our understanding of Eliot as the public intellectual at work." Together with recent editions of the Poems, the eight volumes of Letters, and the sensational opening in 2020 of Eliot's letters to Emily Hale, the Complete Prose brings us to the threshold of a new age for the study of Eliot and the modernist writers of his day.

Project MUSE is home to the fully searchable online edition of The Complete Prose of T. S. Eliot.

Volume 1: Apprentice Years, 1905-1918, edited by Jewel Spears Brooker and Ronald Schuchard

Volume 2: The Perfect Critic, 1919-1926, edited by Anthony Cuda and Ronald Schuchard

Volume 3: Literature, Politics, Belief, 1927-1929, edited by Frances Dickey, Jennifer Formichelli, and Ronald Schuchard

Volume 4: English Lion, 1930-1933, edited by Jason Harding and Ronald Schuchard

Volume 5: Tradition and Orthodoxy, 1934-1939, edited by Iman Javadi, Ronald Schuchard, and Jayme Stayer

Volume 6: The War Years, 1940-1946, edited by David E. Chinitz and Ronald Schuchard

Volume 7: A European Society, 1947-1953, edited by Iman Javadi and Ronald Schuchard

Volume 8: Still and Still Moving, 1954-1965, edited by Jewel Spears Brooker and Ronald Schuchard

Kundrecensioner och bloggar

Ingår i följande avdelningar

Sök fler böcker:

Kunder som köpt denna bok har
även köpt:
Skotten i Köpenhamn :  ett reportage om
Vintermörker :  samlade spänningshistori
Uppgång och fall
Uppgång och fall
av Strömquist, Liv
av Burton, Jessie
Min mors självbiografi
Min mors självbiografi
av Kincaid, Jamaica