Avancerad sökning
Din kundvagn är tom
Ändra i din kundvagn Gå till kassan
The House of Government
  • Bandtyp: Häftad
  • Språk: Engelska
  • Utgiven: 201905
  • Antal sidor: 1128
  • ISBN10:0691192723
  • ISBN13:9780691192727

The House of Government

(Häftad)
Beskrivning:

The epic story of an enormous Soviet apartment building where Communist true believers lived before their destructionThe House of Government is unlike any other book about the Russian Revolution and the Soviet experiment. Written in the tradition of Tolstoy's War and Peace, Grossman's Life and Fate, and Solzhenitsyn's The Gulag Archipelago, Yuri Slezkine's gripping narrative tells the chilling true story of an enormous Moscow apartment building where Soviet leaders and their families lived until hundreds of these Bolshevik true believers were led, one by one, to prison or to their deaths in Stalin's purges. Drawing on letters, diaries, and interviews with survivors, and featuring hundreds of rare photographs, this epic story weaves together biography, literary criticism, architectural history, and fascinating new theories of revolutions, millennial prophecies, and reigns of terror. The result is an unforgettable saga of a building that, like the Soviet Union itself, became a haunted house, forever disturbed by the ghosts of the disappeared.

Kundrecensioner och bloggar

Sök fler böcker:

Kunder som köpt denna bok har
även köpt:
Lägg i kundvagn Pris199 kr
Uppgång och fall
av Strömquist, Liv
Lägg i kundvagn Pris200 kr
Den allvarsamma leken
av Söderberg, Hjalmar
Pris53 kr
Miniatyrmakaren
av Burton, Jessie
Pris54 kr
Min mors självbiografi
av Kincaid, Jamaica
Pris203 kr